REPUBLIC OF KENYA

MANDERA COUNTY ASSEMBLY

THE HANSARD

Tuesday, 16th February 2021

The House met in the Assembly Chambers County Assembly Buildings at 2:30 pm

[Temporary Speaker (Hon. Sokorey M. Issackow) in the Chair]

PRAYER

CONFIRMATION OF QUORUM

Temporary Speaker (Hon. Sokorey M. Issackow): Sergeant-at- arm, ring the bell for ten minutes.

(Quorum bell rung)

(Quorum obtained)

(Orders read)

MOTION

Hon. Abdi Adan (Neboi): Thank you, Madam Temporary Speaker. I beg to move the following Motion; -

THAT pursuant to the provision of Mandera County Assembly Standing Order No. 154 (1) (d), in addition to those honorable Members specified under Standing Order No. 154 (1) (a) (b) (c) (3), this County Assembly approves the appointment of the following honorable Members to the County Assembly Business Committee; -

- 1. Hon. Abdullahi Siyad Adan
- 2. Hon. Yakub Hassan Eymoi
- 3. Hon. Mohamed Rashid Ali
- 4. Hon, Rahma Ibrahim Issack
- 5. Hon. Hindia Hussein Ibrahim
- 6. Hon. Bishar Maalim Abdullahi
- 7. Hon. Mohamed Ibrahim Yussuf
- 8. Hon, Ahmed Rashid Mohamed

Disclaimer: The electronic version of the Mandera County Assembly Hansard Report is for information purposes only. A certified version of this Report can be obtained from the Hansard Editor, Mandera County Assembly.

- 9. Hon. Shankaron Sheikh Ibrahim
- 10. Hon. Adan Maalim Mohamed
- 11. Hon. Abdiaziz Dakat Maalim
- 12. Hon. Sahara Mohamed Ali
- 13. Hon. Ummulkher Kassim
- 14. Hon. Hussein Adan Haji
- 15. Hon. Halima Billow Omar
- 16. Hon. Fatuma Issack Osman
- 17. Hon. Shamsa Ibrahim Maalim
- 18. Hon. Zamzam Abdullahi Ali
- 19. Hon. Abdinoor Dakane Rafat

Madam Temporary Speaker, Standing Order says that we are supposed to bring names of new Members to the County Assembly Business Committee for the new session. So, as parties, we have decided to forward these names. I will ask honorable Members to approve the Motion so that the business of the House is set for the Assembly.

Temporary Speaker (Hon. Sokorey M. Issackow): Who is your seconder?

Hon. Abdi Adan (Neboi): I ask the Minority Leader to second.

Hon. Jimale Abdi (Guba): Thank you, Madam Temporary Speaker. I rise to second the Motion moved by the Majority Leader. It is normal for this House after every session to have new House Business Committee Members which has just been read by the Majority Leader. So, for us to transact businesses in this House, the committee must be constituted. I ask the honorable Members to agree with parties so that we approve and go ahead.

Thank you.

(Question proposed)

Hon. Ahmed Gabnan (Waranqara): Thank you, Madam Temporary Speaker. I rise to support the Motion. As the name of the committee suggests, this committee is very important for the continuity of business in this House. I can confirm the Assembly parties' leadership has consulted and they have decided to maintain the status quo. There is no change to the membership of the committee. It is as it was last session. So, I humbly request the honorable Members to support.

Thank you.

(Question put and agreed to)

ADJOURNMENT

Temporary Speaker (Hon. Sokorey M. Issackow): Honorable Members, I now adjourn the House to tomorrow 17th February, 2021 at 9 am.

Disclaimer: The electronic version of the Mandera County Assembly Hansard Report is for information purposes only. A certified version of this Report can be obtained from the Hansard Editor, Mandera County Assembly.